Revised Belgian GP grid, Palmer penalised

Date published: August 27 2017 - Editor

There are no fewer than six drivers facing grid penalties in Belgium with Jolyon Palmer handed a gearbox penalty on Sunday morning.

Felipe Massa will start the grand prix P16 due to a five-place penalty for ignoring yellow flags in FP3 while both Sauber drivers have gearbox penalties as too does Jolyon Palmer.

Daniil Kvyat and Stoffel Vandoorne were hit with engine penalties with the latter’s sitting at 65.

Lance Stroll is the biggest winner in the reshuffle as he improves from 18th in qualifying to 14th on the grid.

The revised grid
1 Lewis Hamilton
2 Sebastian Vettel
3 Valtteri Bottas
4 Kimi Räikkönen
5 Max Verstappen
6 Daniel Ricciardo
7 Nico Hulkenberg
8 Sergio Perez
9 Esteban Ocon
10 Fernando Alonso
11 Romain Grosjean
12 Kevin Magnussen
13 Carlos Sainz
14 Lance Stroll
15 Jolyon Palmer **
16 Felipe Massa *
17 Marcus Ericsson **
18 Pascal Wehrlein **
19 Daniil Kvyat ***
20 Stoffel Vandoorne ****

* Massa penalised five places for ignoring yellow flags in FP3
** Palmer, Ericsson and Wehrlein penalised five places for unscheduled gearbox changes
*** Kvyat penalised 20 places for use of additional power unit elements
**** Vandoorne penalised 65 grid places for use of additional power unit elements plus an unscheduled gearbox change