Revised Japanese GP grid


With engine and gearbox penalties in play, Sunday’s Japanese GP grid looks rather different to the timesheet at the end of qualifying.

Valtteri Bottas falls from second to sixth due to a gearbox penalty whie Kimi Raikkonen is starting P10 as a result of the same issue.

At the back of the grid are Jolyon Palmer, in his last race for Renault, Carlos Sainz and Fernando Alonso.

All three have penalties for engine changes.

The grid
1 Lewis Hamilton
2 Sebastian Vettel
3 Daniel Ricciardo
4 Max Verstappen
5 Esteban Ocon
6 Valtteri Bottas *
7 Sergio Perez
8 Felipe Massa
9 Stoffel Vandoorne
10 Kimi Räikkönen *
11 Nico Hulkenberg
12 Kevin Magnussen
13 Romain Grosjean
14 Pierre Gasly
15 Lance Stroll
16 Marcus Ericsson
17 Pascal Wehrlein
18 Jolyon Palmer **
19 Carlos Sainz **
20 Fernando Alonso ***

* five place grid penalty for gearbox change
** 20 place grid penalty for engine change
***35 place grid penalty for engine change