Revised starting grid for the Brazil GP


While one Mercedes will start Sunday’s Brazilian GP from pole position, the other is starting from the pitlane.

Mercedes have confirmed that Lewis Hamilton, who crashed in qualifying, will start from the pitlane as they needed to make overnight repairs.

However, perhaps the biggest loser after qualifying was Daniel Ricciardo.

He finished P5 on Saturday afternoon but will start the race 14th on the grid due to an engine penalty.

Brendon Hartley and Pierre Gasly, P18 and P19 respectively, also have engine penalties while Lance Stroll and Marcus Ericsson have five-place drops due to a gearbox change.

The grid
1 Valtteri Bottas
2 Sebastian Vettel
3 Kimi Raikkonen
4 Max Verstappen
5 Sergio Perez
6 Fernando Alonso
7 Nico Hulkenberg
8 Carlos Sainz
9 Felipe Massa
10 Esteban Ocon
11 Romain Grosjean
12 Stoffel Vandoorne
13 Kevin Magnussen
14 Daniel Ricciardo *
15 Pascal Wehrlein
16 Lance Stroll **
17 Marcus Ericsson **
18 Brendon Hartley *
19 Pierre Gasly ***
20 Lewis Hamilton ****

* 10-place engine penalty
** five-place gearbox penalty
*** 25-place engine penalty
**** Pitlane start