Sauber question Magnussen decision


Sauber team boss Monisha Kaltenborn says she doesn’t understand how Kevin Magnussen escaped without a penalty when he collided with Marcus Ericsson in Australia.

Ericsson and Magnussen’s grands prix were compromised by the first lap incident which saw the Dane hit the Sauber driver while trying to overtake up the inside at Turn 3.

Both drivers landed up in the gravel but were able to continue with the race, only later retiring as a result of damage sustained in the accident.

Magnussen was cleared of any wrongdoing by the stewards, who ruled that he had “moved to the inside to avoid Ericsson and Magnussen followed a very similar line to the car in front of him.

“Ericsson did leave enough room, and Magnussen who was fully on the inside took a reasonable line, but unfortunately the action of the kerb forced him wide and caused the collision.”

Kaltenborn, however, believes the Haas driver should have been penalised.

“I don’t understand why the FIA didn’t react there,” she told Autosport.

“They have clarified the rules that if it really is a driver’s fault they take action, and I don’t know what else needs to take place because the situation was very clear.”

The team boss added that Sauber may seek clarity ahead of the next race in China given the FIA’s recent decision to only penalise drivers when they are solely to blame.

“I think, yeah, it might be at the next manager’s meeting or whatever they have,” she said.

“It shouldn’t [make a difference that this was on the first lap], so I don’t even want to consider that.

“There is no such differentiation that takes place, so it shouldn’t make any difference.”