The Mexican GP starting grid


With penalties aplenty, Kimi Raikkonen and Jenson Button will occupy the back row of the Mexican GP grid.

Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton will start the race from the front row after the German grabbed pole position ahead of the three-time World Champ.

It promised to be a thrilling battle as Rosberg won’t forget Austin and Hamilton wants win number 44.

Behind them – far behind in fact – there are three drivers with penalties.

Kimi Raikkonen, who qualified P15, was initially set to drop to P18 but after a late engine change will now line up 19th on the grid.  He has a 35-place drop.

Alonso, who was 16th fastest on Saturday, was expected to start 19th but will now climb to 18th while Button, who has a massive 70-place penalty, will start last.

Both McLaren drivers had engine components changed, although in Button’s case they were changed several times.

Revised Grid
01 Nico Rosberg Mercedes
02 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
03 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari
04 Daniil Kvyat Red Bull
05 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull
06 Valtteri Bottas Williams
07 Felipe Massa Williams
08 Max Verstappen Toro Rosso
09 Sergio Perez Force India
10 Nico Hulkenberg Force India
11 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso
12 Romain Grosjean Lotus
13 Pastor Maldonado Lotus
14 Marcus Ericsson Sauber
15 Felipe Nasr Sauber
16 Alexander Rossi Manor
17 Will Stevens Manor
18 Fernando Alonso McLaren
19 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari
20 Jenson Button McLaren