The revised British GP grid


Yet another gearbox issue for Sebastian Vettel sees him start Sunday’s British GP from 11th on the grid while Marcus Ericsson will start from the pit lane, if he races.

Vettel’s gearbox went on his final lap in Saturday’s FP3, resulting a frustrated driver.

Finishing P6 in qualifying, he will start the Silverstone race from 11th on the grid as a result of the mandatory grid penalty.

As for Ericsson, he did not take part in qualifying after suffering a huge high-speed crash in final practice.

The Sauber driver was given the go-ahead to race by the FIA doctors and the race stewards. He will start from the pit lane as Sauber had to build him a chassis overnight.

Revised Grid
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2 Nico Rosberg Mercedes
3 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing
4 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing
5 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari
6 Valtteri Bottas Williams
7 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso
8 Nico Hulkenberg Force India
9 Fernando Alonso McLaren
10 Sergio Perez Force India
11 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari *
12 Felipe Massa Williams
13 Romain Grosjean Haas
14 Esteban Gutierrez Haas
15 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso
16 Kevin Magnussen Renault
17 Jenson Button McLaren
18 Jolyon Palmer Renault
19 Rio Haryanto Manor
20 Pascal Wehrlein Manor
21 Felipe Nasr Sauber
22 Marcus Ericsson Sauber **

* five-place penalty for a gearbox change
** pit lane start for new chassis