The revised grid for the Belgian GP


Four drivers, so far anyway, have been hit with penalties ahead of Sunday's Belgian Grand Prix, leading to a couple of changes to the starting grid.

McLaren duo Fernando Alonso and Jenson Button have known for a while that they would be givena lot of penalties and on Friday they were hit with a combined 55-place grid penalty for changing their power units.

Fifty-five became 105 on Saturday as each driver was handed another 25-place penalty after McLaren-Honda opted for a second engine change of the weekend.

Of course the good news for them is that they can only go to the back of the grid and won't receive any time penalties during the race.

Max Verstappen, meanwhile, has received a 10-place grid penalty as his Toro Rosso team changed his engine after Friday practice.

Although the Dutch youngster made it through to the second qualifying session on Saturday, he opted not run and was due to start P15, but he drops to P18 once his penalty is taken into account.

Romain Grosjean produced his best qualifying display of the season as he was fourth fastest, but the Lotus driver will start P9 as a result of a five-place grid penalty for a gearbox change.

1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2 Nico Rosberg Mercedes
3 Valtteri Bottas Williams
4 Sergio Perez Force India
5 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull
6 Felipe Massa Williams
7 Pastor Maldonado Lotus
8 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari
9 Romain Grosjean Lotus
10 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso
11 Nico Hulkenberg Force India
12 Daniil Kvyat Red Bull
13 Marcus Ericsson Sauber
14 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari
15 Felipe Nasr Sauber
16 Will Stevens Marussia
17 Roberto Merhi Marussia
18 Max Verstappen Toro Rosso
19 Jenson Button McLaren
20 Fernando Alonso McLaren