The revised Italian GP grid

Monza fans

Nine, you read that right, nine drivers have been hit with grid penalties for the Italian Grand Prix – and all are engine or gearbox related.

Max Verstappen, Nico Hulkenberg, Carlos Sainz, Daniel Ricciardo and Jolyon Palmer have penalties ranging from 10 to 25 points while Fernando Alonso, the hardest hit, has a 35-place grid drop.

The McLaren-Honda driver will, however, be starting P19 as Romain Grosjean, who has taken on a new gearbox, crashed out of qualifying in the wet on Saturday.

One place ahead of Alonso is his team-mate Stoffel Vandoorne, who has 25-places worth of engine penalties, and Sergio Perez has dropped down to 12th after a gearbox change.

The grid
1 Lewis Hamilton
2 Lance Stroll
3 Esteban Ocon
4 Valtteri Bottas
5 Kimi Raikkonen
6 Sebastian Vettel
7 Felipe Massa
8 Daniil Kvyat
9 Kevin Magnussen
10 Marcus Ericsson
11 Pascal Wehrlein
12 Sergio Perez *******
13 Max Verstappen *
14 Nico Hulkenberg **
15 Carlos Sainz ***
16 Daniel Ricciardo ****
17 Jolyon Palmer *****
18 Stoffel Vandoorne ********
19 Fernando Alonso ******
20 Romain Grosjean *********

* Verstappen 20-place engine penalty
** Hulkenberg 10-place engine penalty
*** Sainz 10-place engine penalty
**** Ricciardo 25-place engine and gearbox penalty
***** Palmer 15-place engine penalty
****** Alonso 35-place engine penalty
******* Perez 5-place gearbox penalty
******** Vandoorne 25-place engine penalty
********* Grosjean 5-place gearbox penalty