Toro Rosso confirm Gasly, Hartley for 2018


Toro Rosso have announced that they have retained their current driver line-up of Pierre Gasly and Brendon Hartley for the 2018 season.

The Red Bull junior team started the 2017 campaign with Carlos Sainz and Daniil Kvyat, but Jolyon Palmer's early departure from Renault allowed Sainz to complete his move early while Kvyat was dropped altogether from the Red Bull programme despite a point-scoring finish on his brief return at the United States Grand Prix.

But, after several swaps this year, Toro Rosso have settled on Gasly and Hartley for the foreseeable future.

"We're really happy to have Pierre and Brendon confirmed so early by Red Bull as our drivers for 2018," said Toro Rosso team boss Franz Tost.

"During this last part of the year they've shown that they're ready for Formula 1, getting to grips with the car quickly, showing good performances and always demonstrating to be prepared for the challenge.

"We have been truly impressed by both their steep learning curves.

"I'm sure they will keep pushing hard and fight for strong results, together with the team."

Both drivers are understandably delighted that their respective Formula 1 careers will continue into next season.

"It's very satisfying to have converted an opportunity that came as a surprise into a 2018 F1 drive, I couldn't be happier," said Hartley.

"I'd like to thank Red Bull and Toro Rosso for believing in me and giving me this second chance – dreams can come true."

Gasly added: "I'm really excited and super motivated to give it my all in Abu Dhabi and the whole of next year! I just can't wait!"

The latest driver announcements means just Williams and Sauber are left before the 2018 field is completed.