Uruguay name World Cup squad


Uruguay have named their squad for the Rugby World Cup where they will be captained by second row Santiago Vilaseca.

Los Teros have just completed a two-Test series against Japan, going down heavily in both games, and face a formidable challenge at the World Cup in Pool A against England, Australia, Wales and Fiji.

French-based trio Agustin Ormaechea, Felipe Berchesi and Mario Sagario will provide some professional experience, but the country's most decorated player, Rodrigo Capo Ortega is not available.

Uruguay squad for the World Cup:

Forwards: Alejo Corral, Carlos Arboleya, Oscar Duran, Mateo Sanguinetti, Mario Sagario, Nicolas Klappenbach, German Kessler, Mathias Palomeque, Santiago Vilaseca, Franco Lamanna, Jorge Zerbino, Agustin Alonso, Fernando Bascou, Matias Beer, Juan Manuel Gaminara, Alejandro Nieto, Juan de Freitas, Diego Magno

Backs: Agustin Ormaechea, Alejo Duran, Felipe Berchesi, Manuel Blengio, Andres Vilaseca, Joaquin Prada, Alberto Roman, Francisco Bulanti, Santiago Gibernau, Leandro Leivas, Rodrigo Silva, Gaston Mieres, Jeronimo Etcheverry