Verstappen and Ricciardo both clinch awards

Date published: December 9 2017

Red Bull duo Max Verstappen and Daniel Ricciardo have won awards after both drivers had an up-and-down 2017 campaign.

Verstappen and Ricciardo suffered 13 DNFs between them throughout the season, but both still managed to have their moment in the spotlight.

Verstappen won two of the last six races of 2017, while Daniel Ricciardo came out on top in a crazy race in Baku amongst a string of podium finishes.

Ricciardo’s performance in Azerbaijan earned him the ‘Best Overtake of the Year’ award in an official Formula 1 poll, beating the likes of Sebastian Vettel’s pass on him in China and Fernando Alonso’s battle with Lewis Hamilton in Mexico.

Meanwhile, at Friday’s FIA Gala, where Hamilton finally got his hands on his fourth World Championship, Verstappen collected the ‘Personality of the Year’ award for a third consecutive season.